A drunk driver is a person who has a hard-on for you, and he or she might have to take a new approach with a new car. I have a pretty long list of issues that could have gotten you in a car wreck, but I will tell you something else. These changes are necessary for the good of others, as they were done to us in the past, and should never be taken lightly.
At one time there was no statute of limitations on drunk driving. Under the new law, the age requirement for a charge of drunk driving will be raised from 20 to 21. The other changes are designed to save time and money on the prosecutor’s side, as these charges are typically low-level offenses. I’m assuming this law change will be implemented in November, so that’s around the time you will be getting a new car.
This may seem like a good idea to some, but I have to say, I would say it’s a bad one. Why? Because, if you are a law enforcement officer coming out to do a traffic stop, then you are not going to go down with a drunk driving charge. You are going to go down with a DUI. In other words, you are going to be pulled over and given a breathalyzer and placed under arrest.
And the same is true for people like you and me. If you are a person who is not a law enforcement officer, then by definition you are not going to be arrested. A drunk driver is someone who is on the side of the road, in the car, or walking down the street and driving the wrong way. That is because drunk driving is not about driving, it is about speeding and driving recklessly.
The problem is when you are drunk and driving recklessly, you can’t help but be impaired. The law says you can have a drink and drive until you are sober enough to drive, but that’s different than being drunk. And by the same token, you can’t make a mistake and drive recklessly. The consequences of being impaired are much more severe, because you can’t see or hear or smell or feel things that you don’t actually have in the first place.
So if the cops can charge you with drunk driving even if you’re not drunk when you’re operating a vehicle, you’re not actually able to stop and think about whether you should go back to the party or if you should hit the bottle and not get in a car. Because while you’re in the car, you’re not actually in the situation where you can stop and think.
Now, that is just one small way you can be affected by drunk driving laws, because every state has their own way of classifying impairment. For instance, you cant be charged with drunk driving if you had a seizure when you were driving. You can still be charged if you have a seizure while driving, but you cant be charged if you have a seizure while not driving. That means that people who have seizures while driving are still legally impaired.
Drunk driving laws are fairly new in Michigan. It was initially put into place in 2010, after a deadly accident that left one person dead and four others injured. The law has been put forward by Michigan Governor Rick Snyder, who says it’s important to try and make drunk driving more safe.
The only thing I have to say about the new law is that it’s too good to be true. Apparently, there’s a $50 fine for every hour spent in a bar alone. That doesn’t sound like much, but it’s a huge amount of money for the state. How much money is that? Probably around $50,000.
Thats about $12,000 worth of fine. But hey, after the second year of the law, we should be able to expect to see it reduced to only $12 a drink.